Alabama Abortion Laws

CURRENT ALABAMA LAW

IF YOU ARE 18 OR OVER:
You must have a government issued (federal or state) ID with your picture
and birthdate on it on your first visit, such as your driver’s license.
Government issued passports, non driver ID’s and voting ID’s are all valid
ID’s if issued by a state or country agency and have your date of birth along
with a photo attached.
Alabama has a mandatory 48 hour waiting period. This means that you
have to make two separate appointments at the clinic. On your first
appointment, the clinic will do all of your intake paperwork, lab work, your
pregnancy test, ultrasound, and state mandated counseling. At the first
appointment, the clinic will schedule you for your second appointment, the
day that you obtain your procedure. Please call the clinic you wish to go to
in order to find out what days are available for first appointments and
procedure dates. Please note that although you may not be a resident of
Alabama, these laws still apply to you.
Alabama has very strict informed consent laws. You will have to fill out
several pages of informed consent paperwork on your first appointment.
Some parts of state mandated counseling are done verbally. According to
state law, the technician performing your ultrasound must ask you if you
wish to view the ultrasound image. You can choose to view the image or
decline – that decision is strictly yours. You will also be offered two books
that the State of Alabama requires clinics to offer you: the “Did You
Know?” blue book and a Alabama Directory of Resources for Women,
Children & Families” white colored book. You do not have to take them,
but you do have to sign a form stating that the clinic offered them to you.
Under Alabama law, the physician performing your abortion has to repeat
the ultrasound on the day of your procedure. Again, the decision to view or
not view the image is yours.
Alabama has an (unconstitutional) 20 week abortion ban. This means you
cannot obtain an abortion in Alabama past 21 weeks & 6 days (LMP). As
of this publishing date, the Huntsville clinic is the only clinic doing abortion
care past 16 weeks.

IF YOU ARE UNDER 18:
Alabama has parental consent laws. This means that any person under
the age of 18 in Alabama must obtain consent from one of their parents.
The parent bringing them must be one of the parents listed on the birth
certificate.
Please note that NO CLINIC CAN OR WILL FORCE A MINOR TO HAVE
AN ABORTION IF THEY DO NOT CONSENT under state law.
You will need the following forms of ID when presenting a minor for
abortion care and you MUST bring them with you on the first visit:
– Certified birth certificate for the minor. IT CANNOT BE A PHOTOCOPY.
It must have the state seal or other form of certification INTACT from the
state or country it was issued in. The clinic MUST keep this certified copy
in their records for a minimum of 7 years. They CANNOT give it back to
you. This is Alabama state law and no exceptions can be made to this rule.
– Picture ID for the parent giving consent: A government issued (federal or
state) ID with your picture and birthdate on it, such as your driver’s license,
for the first and subsequent visits. The name on the ID must correspond to
the name of one of the parents listed on the birth certificate. Government
issued passports, like non driver IDs and voting IDs are all valid forms of
identification if issued by a state or country agency and have your date of
birth along with a photo.
– Picture ID for the minor: The same rules apply to the minor as the parent.
State issued Medicaid cards are also acceptable for minors. Please call
the clinic you wish to visit to ask about acceptable forms of ID if the minor
does not have any of the above identification.
Depending on the age of the minor, all Alabama clinics are required to
report minors obtaining abortion care to the Alabama Department of
Human Resources. Clinics may also have to report to the local police
department in which the minor resides. The clinic will be able to tell you
more information about applicable reporting procedures when you make
your appointment.
Alabama has a mandatory 48 hour waiting period. This means that you
have to make two separate appointments at the clinic. On your first
appointment, the clinic will do all of your intake paperwork, lab work, your
pregnancy test, ultrasound, and state mandated counseling. At the first
appointment, the clinic will schedule you for your second appointment, the
day that you obtain your procedure. Please call the clinic you wish to go to
in order to find out what days are available for first appointments and
procedure dates. Please note that although you may not be a resident of
Alabama, these laws still apply to you.
Alabama has very strict informed consent laws. You will have to fill out
several pages of informed consent paperwork on your first appointment.
Some parts of state mandated counseling are done verbally. According to
state law, the technician performing your ultrasound must ask you if you
wish to view the ultrasound image. You can choose to view the image or
decline – that decision is strictly yours. You will also be offered two books
that the State of Alabama requires clinics to offer you: the “Did You
Know?” blue book and a Alabama Directory of Resources for Women,
Children & Families” white colored book. You do not have to take them,
but you do have to sign a form stating that the clinic offered them to you.
Under Alabama law, the physician performing your abortion has to repeat
the ultrasound on the day of your procedure. Again, the decision to view or
not view the image is yours.
Alabama has an (unconstitutional) 20 week abortion ban. This means you
cannot obtain an abortion in Alabama past 21 weeks & 6 days (LMP). As
of this publishing date, the Huntsville clinic is the only clinic doing abortion
care past 16 weeks.

%d bloggers like this: